The original deal pioneer keeps on pinching pennies and cracking wise. No, that price isn't a typo.
Go to Woot
Candlepower and puppet shows are so passé. Get the newest TVs, speakers, home theater gear, and more.
Go to Electronics.Woot
The robots are coming! And so are the laptops, the tablets, the chargers, and all sorts of other gadgets!
Go to Computers.Woot
High living at low prices with name-brand deals for your pad, crib, nest, or castle - inside and out.
Go to Home.Woot
Make it, build it, improve it. But whatever home project you've got in mind, start by saving money on it.
Go to Tools & Garden
Sports, fitness, and outdoors deals, because saving money is only one of your passions.
Go to Sport.Woot
You don't have to spend a lot to look like you do. Werk it and twerk it with amazing deals on designer watches, handbags and more.
Go to Accessories & Watches
Deals for moms and dads and anybody else who needs kids' stuff, from toys to baby gear to furniture to clothing.
Go to Kids.Woot
Our exclusive graphic tees will make you laugh, will make you cry, will make you look totally hot.
Go to Shirt.Woot
Direct from the winery to your thirsty lips: wine deals worth doing a spit-take over.
Go to Wine.Woot
Last chance deals for hardcore cheapskates. Catch 'em before they - you guessed it - sell out.
Go to Sellout.Woot
426,039 deals (and counting)
from around the web, shared and ranked by a community of deal fiends like you.
Go to Deals.Woot.
Hi All! I'm trying to do some research about animal products since I'm trying to eat consume of them, and I'm a little surprised to find that most white wines are not vegan.
Do any of you know of any white wine that is vegan?
I'm going back through my purchases and asking if what I bought was vegan. While those responses are coming in, do any of you know of any white vegan wines?
While I have never thought about "vegan" wine, because that's just silly, I'm assuming what would be making these wines non-vegan would be the fining process done with egg whites (a little further research provided some other animal proteins and by-products are often used as well). I could be missing some other element of the process involving an animal by-product, but I think that is it.
I think your first bet would be to go with unfined wines, though I would suspect that most whites are fined and filtered. It is highly unlikely that this process is included in any description of the wine (whether it be on the bottle or on a website), but rather needs to be directly inquired about.
My naivity to veganism begs me to ask the question, is a wine which used an animal by-product for fining, still considered non-vegan, even if said by-product does not exist in the end product?
I agree with North.
North316 wrote:My naivity to veganism begs me to ask the question, is a wine which used an animal by-product for fining, still considered non-vegan, even if said by-product does not exist in the end product?
Hey North - I am BY NO MEANS a veganism expert... I simply just want to consume fewer animals. (It all started when I accidentally learned what confectioner's glaze was and got creeped out, so now I get picky about what's in my food and how it is made.)
You are correct: wine and beer makers frequently use animal-derived products like isinglass, egg white albumen, gelatin or casein to fine the wines. More red wines are vegan than whites. Some whites use a clay for fining called Bentonite that makes it vegan-friendly.
And to finally answer your question, it's my understanding that vegans would NOT consider a product that used animals in the process to be vegan-friendly - even if, as you mention, the product you consume at the end of the process does not contain that animal-derived-product anymore - as frequently is the case in white wine.
My little sister Google'd this and found a list of vegan friendly wines at barnivore.com.
Just thought I'd pass it on.
View All →