canonizer wrote:Are you otherwise kosher/do you drink kosher wine on passover? I never understood this tradition. It seems like a marketing ploy. Or do you mean just no bread for palate cleansing?
Nah, it's actually Biblical-based, or at least the origins of keeping Kosher are. And it's certainly more than just "no yeast" (I say no yeast, not no bread, because you can have unleavaned (yeast-free, flat, cracker-like) bread). Palate cleansing would certainly be taken care of by Mazza bread. And mmm, mmm, lamb.
If I were more of a Bible scholar, I would direct you to the passages that discuss what foods are forbidden (I know shellfish is in there, and pork, and you can't mix meat and dairy - cheeseburgers are like the ultimate sin food). But I can't pull it off the top of my head, I want to say it's in Leviticus, though.
How's that for a Gentile Christian?
Edit: Whoa, it is Leviticus. Chapter 11. That was cool, I just love when I'm told where something is in the Bible.
Edit 2: That being said, having been given the opportunity here to witness a little if you'll allow (if not, stop reading, just move on), with Jesus' death on the cross, He fulfilled the Old Testament law. The restrictions were given by God originally to set Israel apart from other nations, but with the law fulfilled and God's salvation being made available to all (Jew and Gentile), the restrictions no longer apply. Which is why under the New Testament, we may consume all these foods, and keeping Kosher is no longer required. But, when we are in the presence of those who do keep Kosher, it is expected that we will respect that and also keep Kosher with them. So I always like to know when my Jewish friends keep Kosher, especially if we eat out somewhere, so I don't disrespect them.
| I saw HitAnyKey42 on wine.woot! and clicked "I want one!"